Biographie

Die Arbeit von Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sarikakis ist geprägt von der politischen Philosophie. Ihr Fokus liegt auf der Analyse politischer Prozesse sowie den politisch-ökonomischen Dimensionen nationaler und globaler Media Governance. Von besonderem Interesse ist für sie die Art und Weise wie BürgerInnen in politische Entscheidungsprozesse miteinbezogen werden und welche Rolle Kommunikation in diesen Prozessen spielt. Institutionen stellen in diesem Zusammenhang zentrale Orte für das Entstehen von Ideen, Legitimität und der Ausübung von Kontrolle dar. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sarikakis analysiert diese Dimensionen indem sie die Spannungsfelder zwischen unterschiedlichen Formen und Ausprägungen staatlicher Einflussnahme auf Individuen, Kommunikation und auf den Mediensektor betrachtet.

Momentan arbeitet Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sarikakis an einer Monographie mit dem Titel „Communication and Control“ (Palgrave Macmillan). In dieser Arbeit beschäftigt sie sich damit wie BürgerInnen durch kommerzielle und politische Überwachung sowie  Kommunikation und Kulturpolitik kontrolliert werden. Sie bezieht sich dabei vor allem auf Copyright als auch Arbeits- und Besitzverhältnisse.

Ein früherer Zweig ihrer Forschung beschäftigte sich mit der Entwicklung supranationaler, repräsentativer Politik und ihrer Rolle in der europäischen Kommunikationspolitik und -governance. Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt umfasst internationale Policy Ordnungen, ihr Entstehen im Rahmen von Globalisierungsprozessen sowie ihre Beschleunigung im weiteren Verlauf solcher Prozesse. Dabei bezieht sich Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sarikakis auf die Mikropolitik des Staatsbürgertums, dessen wechselnde Facetten und Vorkommen im Alltag. Insbesondere in Hinblick auf die „organische“ Ausübung von Bürgerrechten und dem Streben nach sozialer Gerechtigkeit. Sie geht diesen Fragen nach, um die Verwicklungen von Makro-und Mikrostrukturen von Medien- und Kommunikationspolitik sowie der Regulierung politisch-ökonomischer Ordnungen mit ihrer Auswirkung auf bürgerliche Freiheiten, Demokratisierung von politischen Entscheidungen und Radikaldemokratie zu ergründen. Der Faktor Gender und seine gesellschaftliche Kategorisierung stellen ebenfalls einen wichtigen analytischen Ansatz dar, welcher diesen zweiten Aspekt unterfüttert.

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sarikakis ist zusammen mit Prof. Neil Blain (Univesity of Stirling, UK) Gründungsmitglied und Mitherausgeberin des International Journal of Media and Cultural Politics (MCP). MCP ist eine weithin bekannte Fachzeitschrift, die ein Forum für kritische Analysen zu aktuellen Themen der internationalen Beziehungen und ihren Verbindungen zu Medien- und Kulturpolitik bietet.

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sarikakis wechselte zum 1. Februar 2011 von der Universität Leeds an die Universität Wien.

Biography

Professor Sarikakis researches the political processes and political economic dimensions of media and communications governance, nationally and globally. Her work is informed by political philosophy and investigates the ways in which empowerment and disempowerment of citizens become inherent elements in public policy addressing communication (either as technology or process) and expression (whether political, cultural or other). In her work, institutions are central spaces for the construction of ideas, legitimacy and exercise of control. Her current research explores these dimensions through the tensions of varying forms and degrees of state intervention upon individuals and communication and media industries.

She is currently working on a research monograph that explores issues of control over citizenship through commercial and political surveillance and communication and cultural policies of copyright, labour and ownership. The book Communication and Control is contracted by Palgrave Macmillan.

An earlier strand of her research has focused on the study of the development of supranational representational politics and its role in European communications policies and governance; a second strand has concentrated on the study of international policy regimes as they are shaped by and further facilitate processes of globalisation. Underlying her research is an attention to the micropolitics of citizenship, its changing notions and configurations as lived and ‘everyday’ experience, and with particular reference to the ‘organic’ exercise of citizenship and pursuit of social justice. She is developing work to explore the entanglement of macro and micro structures of media and communications policy and the regularisation of political economic regimes with their impact on civil liberties, democratisation of decision-making and radical democracy. The social categorisation factor of ‘gender’ is an important analytical tool in furthering the second strand of this work.

Professor Sarikakis is the founding co-editor of the International Journal of Media and Cultural Politics with Prof Neil Blain (Univesity of Stirling, UK). MCP is a widely known journal that aims to facilitate a forum  for critical and astute analysis of contemporary world affairs as these are related to media and cultural politics.

She has served as Chair of the Communication Law and Policy Section of ECREA for six years. She is also a re-elected member of the Executive Board of ECREA and a member of the international council of IAMCR. She has consulted with various international intergovernmental and other organisations and the media on media policy and rights issues.

In 2011, Prof. Sarikakis joined the University of Vienna after having spent twenty years in the UK, twelve of which as a tenured academic. Her previous academic post in the UK was at the University of Leeds between 2004-2011. At the University of Vienna she was Vice Director of the PhD Programmes of the Faculty of Social Sciences from 2011-2016.